Gorilla 1228a

 Public Service Announcement

Please be patient while I set up this new blog. Also, being that this blog is an offshoot of my homebrewing blog aka The Brewed Palate, I will only be posting here when I have to content to post. For example, if you look at my first post I haven’t posted a journal entry in a little over a month and I therefore will be typing up an update ASAP. Over time I plan on putting together some tools that will help those looking to experience NYC’s growing specialty coffee culture find the best cafes to have a memorable NYC coffee experience. So be patient and please comment below with suggestions for future posts.

Where I stand

Which coffee roasters have I tried coffees from since I began my journey this past summer and which ones are on my would I like to visit in the coming weeks and months?

Coffee roasters whose cafes I’ve visited so far:

1. Cafe Buunni (Washington Heights, Manhattan)
2. La Colombe (SOHO, Manhattan)
3. Intelligensia (Chelsea, Manhattan)
4. Blue Bottle (Williamsburg, Brooklyn and Rockafeller Center, Manhattan)
5. Porto Rico Importing Company (West Village, Manhattan)
6. Stumptown (West Village, Manhattan)
7. Elixr (Philadelphia, PA)
8. Irving Farm (Upper West Side, Manhattan)
9. Caffe Vita / Madman Espresso (Lower East Side, Manhattan)
10. Gorilla (Park Slope, Brooklyn)

 

To try list:

 
  • Grumpy – 199 Diamond Street Brooklyn, NY 11222 (roastery) / 193 Meserole Avenue | Brooklyn, NY 11222 (café)
  • Caffe Vita’s actual café – 124 Ludlow Street, New York, NY 10002
  • Joe Coffee  – 131 west 21st street New York, NY 10011
  • Irving Farm – to buy beans  – 224 W 79th St, New York, NY 10024
  • Plowshares Coffee 2730 Broadway (btwn 104th/105th) New York, NY 10025
  • Oslo Coffee – 328 Bedford Avenue, Williamsburg
  • Brooklyn Roasting Company – 50 West 23rd St. (between 5th and 6th Avenues) New York, NY 10010 OR 25 Jay Street Brooklyn, NY 11201 (Roastery)
  • City of Saints – 299 Meserole St, Brooklyn NY 11206 (Roastery) / 79 E 10th St @ 4th Ave., New York NY 10003 (café)
  • Stone Street Coffee – available at Fairway Market
  • Crop to Cup Importers – 541A 3rd Ave Brooklyn, NY 11215
